Only Italy. Only Robert Downey Jr. I review Only you

I’m a little sick and staying at home so I needed a “comfort” movie. I was browsing Imdb for a nice comedy or a rom-com and I found this. I love everything about Italy, RDJ is one of my favorite actors and Marisa Tomei does great supporting roles so the choice was easy.

The plot was a little far-fetched. When she’s 11, Faith (Marisa Tomei) finds the name of her soul mate from the Ouija board: Damon Bradley. Later, a fortune teller sees the same name in the Crystal Ball and Faith is convinced. 14 years later, she is engaged and about to marry a nice but dull doctor. Until she gets a call from one of his classmates who is on his way to Venice, Italy. “Surprisingly” his name is Damon Bradley. So Faith and her sister-in-law Kate decide to go to Italy hoping to find Damon.

I’ll stop with the spoilers here. I’ll just say that I was a little disappointed with Marisa Tomei. She was overacting, and made Faith too hysterical and all over the place for my taste. It was hard to get why RDJ would fall in love with her. He, however, was his always charming, a little neurotic, super sexy self. The locations were absolutely beautiful and I got to see some classic Italian cars. The red Fiat 500 is a personal favorite πŸ™‚

So, all in all, I liked “Only you”. It was exactly what I needed.

If you have any suggestions to what I could watch while I’m in bed, please feel free to save me from the boredom πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

