A snowy day in Etara

The Etar Architectural-Ethnographic Complex is an open-air museum in northern Bulgaria. It presents the Bulgarian customs, culture and craftsmanship. It spans over an area of 7 ha and contains a total of 50 objects, including water installations and houses with crafts-men’s workshops. Using original instruments and following the old traditions, locals represent around 20 characteristics of the regional crafts such as wood-carving, pottery, coppersmith crafts, furriery, cutlery making, needlework and others. There are shops for souvenirs, tourists can enjoy the local three star hotel with a bar and a restaurant. As a whole, the complex’s goal is to illustrate the architecture, way of life and economy of Gabrovo and the region during the Bulgarian National Revival.

02012011900

02012011904

02012011906

02012011907

02012011915

02012011918

02012011919

02012011910

It’s a great place to visit, especially during the holidays. If you are lucky to go there, try the homemade Bulgarian cuisine in the complex’s restaurant and the sweets in the sugar shop. They are to die for!

58 thoughts on “A snowy day in Etara

  1. heyy i’ve always dreamt of playing (READ : being) around a real water wheel..! i cant contain my excitement wondering how bustling this place might be during spring..! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • It’s really beautiful with the houses and little shops. I’ve been there in the summer too and it’s equally charming. But I guess you’re right, spring will be perfect for a place like that πŸ™‚

      Like

      • The melting snow, the incessant creaking of the water wheel after months of snowy slumber, the warm comforting sun (i’m guessing the region gets ample sun light)..
        speaking of the sun, how cold does it get there?

        Like

      • :O
        minus 30 C?!!!
        Good God..! though i live in a relatively colder part of india (up north) but the lowest temperature i’ve witnessed is 1 to 2 C that’s it..! πŸ˜›
        is -15 the winters temp or the summers?

        Like

      • Phewww..!! so the summers must be warmer.. πŸ™‚
        Nope it doesn’t snow here at all.. even hailstorms are very rare.. my city is right at the foothills of the sub himalayan ranges.. so when it snows in the hills, icy cold rains splash the plains and thats bout it..! Infact i’ve never seen a snow fall my entire life..!

        Like

      • OMG really??? No snow? Ever? That’s sounds so strange but it kind of makes sense with the climate in your area. It gets properly hot in Bulgaria. We have 4 season and it’s pretty nice to see the nature change every few months πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Yes.. its never snowed in my city ever.. the “coldest” memories i have are that of dancing in a soft hail storm with my sister ages ago..! πŸ˜›
        but it does snow a lot as one goes higher up..
        heyy even we have 4 seasons here..! (same planet..!) but they are not as pronounced as in europe.. in fact our springs and autumns are far more colorful.. with less of grey and black and more of brown and rusty orange..

        Like

      • Hahaha i guess now its my turn to play the host..! πŸ˜€
        your most welcome, India really is a lovely place.. if you love colors a blast of colors that is..!! For first time visitors the experience can be quite over whelming..!
        but i must warn your, people dancing in hail storms is not part of the standard itinerary..! πŸ˜›

        Like

      • I’m sorry i haven’t seen the movie.. but going through the IMDB description it seems a genuine take.. i’ll have to get back to you after i give it an “Authentically Indian” approval assessment.. please gimmi a day or two..

        Like

      • Mission accomplished..! πŸ˜€
        Firstly i must thank you for sending me off on such a wonderful quest..! Its a beautiful movie..! Brilliant actors..! πŸ™‚ though i personally felt dev patel (hotel manager) could do with a lil more gravity in his performance, it seemed to bear too much of a bollywood influence..

        Okay now the verdict.. it is with a sense of gleeful pride (and a tinge of embarrassment πŸ˜› ) that i say, to a great extent the movie is quite genuine..! πŸ˜€ its sprinkled with tit bits of “exaggerations” here and there but all in all presents a very unbiased picture..! and YES tuk-tuk (also called “auto”) rides are every bit crazy as portrayed..!

        What perplexed me were the modes to transportation chosen by the characters, given the handsome currency exchange rates, these people must be in dire straits, for even by Indian standards the buses & trains they rode on are considered cheap..!

        To sum it up.. “Welcome to India!” πŸ˜€

        Like

      • I’m so glad you liked the movie as it is one of the best I’ve seen lately. And if you say that it generally portraits India correctly, then I’m all in for trip. I’m a sucker for adventure πŸ˜€

        Like

      • And i’m glad you suggested it to me..! πŸ˜€
        Meaningful cinema is always a pleasure..!
        Which reminds me, that gay part of the story was rather far fetched.. its taboo in india and such instances are “dealt with” by society raaaather harshly.. even our constitution bans it.. Also such “an understanding spouse thing” is also kinda grossly exaggerated.. doesn’t happen.. at all..! πŸ˜›

        Okay quiz time! in the movie we saw 7 different types of characters and each had his/her own manner and rate of assimilating “india” into themselves..which among the 7 personas would you consider matches the closest to you as a traveler..? πŸ™‚

        Like

      • I didn’t know that the gay issue was that serious in India. And I’d like to add I’m perfectly ok with it. I mean I don’t care who other people like as long as they are good, intelligent and most of all have a great sense of humor πŸ™‚
        I love quizzes! Yey! I’d have to go with Judi Dench’s character. I’m opened to different people and cultures. And you? Who is your pick?

        Like

      • Its seen as a curse in India.. Most people view it here with extreme hatred, pity and indifference (in that order).. though the tend is shifting more towards indifference among younger generations.. we as a society still have miles to go before its considered “okay” here..

        As i said since its considered a taboo, people rarely dare to come out of the closet here, ans so i’ve never quite had an opportunity to interact with or understand such a person.. so my opinions about it are mere incomplete percepts.. i’m kinda neutral bout it (ya you could call me indifferent)

        as for the quiz..! I’m more of a Bill Nighy kinda person.. unassuming and go with the flow sorts.. and very much open to crazy experiments..! πŸ˜€

        Like

      • Indifferent is better than hatred. Two of my best friends are gay and maybe they’ve played a big part in molding my opinion. Either way, I still think it’s something that doesn’t bother me at all. I just like to perceive people of who they are and what they’re worth, not of who they sleep with (this goes for any sexuality).
        Bill Nighy was my second choice πŸ˜€ He’s just amazing! And his character is very lovable too:)

        Like

      • I agree.. an individual’s personal choices do not and cannot truly define or undermine their true worth.. its pointless to discriminate on such grounds.. moreover the one who surrounds himself with prejudices, loses out on the gifted opportunity to truly understanding themselves and harmonizing the world around them..

        Well Billy was my first..! πŸ˜›
        Adorable individual, very polished and charming, even when angry he held onto his composure effortlessly..!
        I’d try to be such an oldie someday! πŸ˜€

        Like

      • On our first point: I couldn’t have put it better! ( by the way I typed “pint” instead of “point” at first πŸ™‚ it would’ve been hilarious!).
        That movie got me thinking how I’d love to grow old like them. Surrounded with different and interesting people in a beautiful and bizarre place like India!

        Like

      • and i would’ve “innocently” replied with a “Well its purely a matter of holding ones drink..” or something like “sometimes its takes more than a few [pints] to ignite all em greys..!”:P

        As for the wondering where you’ll be growing old i’d say Hold that thought..!! Its pretttyyy far fetched..! I prefer to let life decide its flow.. who knows, i might not even live long enough to experience old age.. why plan..!

        Like

      • Thank you thank you..! πŸ˜›

        Oh.. Really!? No plans to play with and narrate countless life stories to your grand kids?

        Like

      • ..iff they are able to spare time from their Mega iPhones & Super PSPs..!! πŸ˜€ and from the daily adventures of an emotionally turmoil-ed teenage life..! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • haha.. you mean the “Chronicles of Granny Manon”?? πŸ™‚
        hey what does “manon” mean? Do european names have meanings?

        Like

      • Ahan.. this mamon(the one in the novel) seemed somewhat confused bout her priorities.. πŸ˜‰

        And i’m guessing the manon i’m talking to, had a pretty rough time at middle school.. but cocky as she says she is, she was able to kick ass soon after..! \m/

        Like

      • Hahah you are almost right. But you are mistaken on two points: I had some trouble in middle school because of my name but I think you guessed it was because of its origins. And it was because it’s not a common name here in Bulgaria. It’s French and most people think it’s a boys’ name or they try to change it to sound more girly.
        And I kicked ass from day one! So you were close πŸ˜€

        Like

      • Intuitively blessed you see..! I’ve had my own set of name troubles.. specially due to its length and the last three letters..! πŸ˜€

        I must say i’m finding it a lil hard to visualize what “little fighter manon” must’ve looked like..
        this is the closest i’ve got.. you could add to it the weapon of your choice.. a hammer, trident or sword..!

        Like

      • Hhahahahah I love Zelda! And I was a fiesty one. I guess I still am. And I haven’t grown that much in height, so I’m remaining ” little fighter manon” πŸ˜€
        And what does your name mean?

        Like

      • I’ve always been afraid of the feisty ones! πŸ˜›
        thank god we are 6000Kms apart..!

        “Siddhartha” is Sanskrit, it means “one who has attained his goal or purpose in life” derived from “Siddha” meaning “proof” or “accomplish” and “artha” which means “meaning”.. Heavy hun?! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

        Also it was Lord Buddha’s (Yup that Buddhist guy..) name before he attained enlightenment.

        Like

      • I’m not that scary. I’m even considered sweet sometimes πŸ˜€
        I knew it was Buddha’s name, I just never knew the meaning. And it’s a great one. You should really like your name πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Awww.. okayyy “considered sweet sometimes” i see thats sweetly put..! but I think this claim shall require further investigation.. zelda..! πŸ˜‰

        Oh you bet i do..! It sounds pretty thunderous too.. love it.. thats why i never shorten it to Sid, regardless of the former’s tough pronunciations..

        Like

      • :OOOOOO
        You are probably the first person whose ever said this to me..! :’) *super happy tears*
        ..even indians find my full name hard to pronounce.. πŸ˜€
        Same here, i hate it when people shorten my name for really crappy ones, lik siddi..(this one i super hate..!)
        Also the crazy crap people give you.. the stupidest thing i’ve ever heard is “your name is too long for my cellphone to save in” O.O

        Like

      • Hahaha.. i’m curious.. have you ever? Punched someone? πŸ˜€
        Ah..! what a sight.. πŸ™‚
        (i mean, for an innocent bystander..! :P)

        hahahaha.. O yes indeed, i remember.. lest i forget, you do periodically remind me of your sweetness.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        PS – i’m still a lil skeptical bout you knowing the correct pronunciation for my name.. but nonetheless i found the gesture rather heart warming πŸ™‚

        Like

      • I haven’t punched anyone. Not since middle school, I think. All the boys were a little afraid of me and I was the skinniest ans smallest girl in my class πŸ˜€
        I have an idea how it’s pronounced, but I’m not sure that when I’m saying it it comes out the way it should. Still, the thought is what counts πŸ™‚

        Like

      • So you did punch people..! πŸ˜€ (remind me to bring along Kevlar when we meet) since i’ve had most of my education in all-boys institutes (maybe a curse or something) i havn’t quite had an opportunity to come across girls who punch/kick..! πŸ˜›

        Agreed it is thought counts..! speaking of which, and also since your sweet, could you help me with how manon’s pronounced, i’d rather not take chances.. may-noh is it?

        Like

      • Yes, I’m pretty sure πŸ™‚
        It’s French, and the last n can be silent, but if I pronounced it like that I wouldn’t stand a chance while introducing myself in Bulgaria πŸ˜€ So I pronounce it exactly like it’s written.

        Like

      • Not even a helmet eh?

        Ohh.. well that makes it much simpler and a rather sweet name indeed.. Hmm.. Manon.. Much better..! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • “Accidentally punch”?! :O πŸ˜€
        Ookay ThaT sounds reassuring..
        and by leather jacket do we imply turtle shell?

        Like

      • I think i’ll need to work on my reflexes.. πŸ˜€
        n a leather jacket wont be sucha bad thing after all.. hmm.. *wonders..*
        Just for the record.. i adore.. no make that, i love alll my teeth and ribs.. and bones and tissues.. the way they are..and i’m not a great fan of hospitals..

        Like

Leave a Reply

