Film makers about their art

Movies have always been a big part of my life. I love the glamour, the action, the drama, the thrill of an interesting and captivating story. And I like to know all the little details about a film: the cast and crew, the locations and trivia. Today I decided to see what my favorite directors think about the magic of film making.

Movies can and do have tremendous influence in shaping young lives in the realm of entertainment towards the ideals and objectives of normal adulthood.
Walt Disney

A film is – or should be – more like music than like fiction. It should be a progression of moods and feelings. The theme, what’s behind the emotion, the meaning, all that comes later.
Stanley Kubrick

The length of a film should be directly related to the endurance of the human bladder.
Alfred Hitchcock

If my films don’t show a profit, I know I’m doing something right.
Woody Allen

Cinema is a matter of what’s in the frame and what’s out.
Martin Scorsese

Cinema is the most beautiful fraud in the world.
Jean-Luc Godard

Making movies is a way of understanding myself and the world.
Ang Lee

I think cinema, movies, and magic have always been closely associated. The very earliest people who made film were magicians.
Francis Ford Coppola

Movies are like an expensive form of therapy for me.
Tim Burton

The secret to film is that it’s an illusion.
George Lucas

Film lovers are sick people.
Francois Truffaut

To me, movies and music go hand in hand. When I’m writing a script, one of the first things I do is find the music I’m going to play for the opening sequence.
Quentin Tarantino

Making movies was more a reaction to not being chosen for sports. Other kids were out there playing at whatever; I was off making something blow up and filming it, or making a mould of my sister’s head using alginating plaster.
J. J. Abrams

When I grow up, I still want to be a director.
Steven Spielberg

One of the things you do as a writer and as a filmmaker is grasp for resonant symbols and imagery without necessarily fully understanding it yourself.
Christopher Nolan

You think about taking audiences on a journey.
Sam Mendes

I suppose directing on set is the most fun because it’s a good crack and you feel you’re on the battlefield whereas writing is a fairly solitary undertaking.
Guy Ritchie

The filmmaking process is a very personal one to me, I mean it really is a personal kind of communication. It’s not as though its a study of fear or any of that stuff.
David Cronenberg

Everything seems really simple on paper until you take a camera out of the box.
David Fincher

Do what you haven’t done is the key, I think.
Ridley Scott

14 thoughts on “Film makers about their art

  1. Pingback: Checking Out the “Happy-Haps!” (3/13) | The Focused Filmographer

Leave a Reply

